St. Patrick’s Day and Spring Bonanza

Nothing says St. Patrick’s Day like a touch of green, right?

IMG_7295

So nothing says St. Patrick’s Day better than 32 touches of green. That’s what I’m telling myself.

IMG_7296

We were having about 20 people over for book club and I wanted to table to just “whisper” St. Pat’s and not scream it. We’re not Irish and don’t really get into the celebrations here in Chicago, but there’s something to be said for a city that takes its melting pot of heritages seriously.

When I found these beautiful napkins at Tuesday Morning, I was thrilled — but there were only two packages of eight. Not enough for my party. I didn’t buy them, but the next day I found myself still wanting them. I buzzed out to the other Tuesday Morning a little farther from my house and they had two sets also. They also had some other wonderful beauties, but that’s a story for another day. I grabbed the two sets, scurried back to the original TM, praying that the other sets were still there, and found my holy grail of napkins. Thirty-two gorgeous green napkins for book club and parties beyond.

Of course there’s always a little fly in the ointment. After laundering, they needed to be pressed, but there’s something soothing about the rhythm of spraying and pressing linens.

P. S. If you were wondering why I’ve been slow to post over the last couple of weeks, I’ve taken on the responsibility of producing a musical at my church. It’s gonna be pretty time-consuming if the last weeks are any indicator. On the other hand, doing my tablescaping and taking the photos is a welcome escape.

P.P.S. For a view of some amazing St. Patrick’s Day decorating, click here to visit Cuisine Kathleen’s St. Patrick’s Day Blog Crawl.

2 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day and Spring Bonanza

  1. Aha! OK….I had just asked the question wondering where you have been, and now I see! Go on with your bad self, Miss Church Musical Producer! That’s pretty cool! Congrats on getting all the napkins you needed/wanted. It doesn’t always turn out happy like your story did! I often leave something and go back to get it just a few hours (or minutes!) later only to find it’s long gone. These napkins will be GREAT for spring AND summer tablescaping!!!!!!!!! Break a leg! (Is that what you say to the producer, too? If not, I’ll say in advance that I am sorry you are on crutches!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

