Ham and Pineapple Fried Rice

I’ve gone through some crazy days in the last couple of weeks and have fallen away from my cooking at home efforts. Too much take-out and too many restaurants — even if there were some really good restaurants, which I’ll link up later.

When I got my daily email from Once a Month Mom, I knew I was ready to cook again if it involved making this easy Ham and Pineapple Fried Rice.

Except that I didn’t have any ham. But I did have Sriracha sauce which I bought on impulse after a friend talked about it on Facebook. I didn’t even know what it was.

I substituted shrimp for the ham and added a big granny smith apple to give it even more fruit. We served it with three sauces on the side — peanut sauce (Music Man’s favorite), sriracha sauce, and sweet and sour sauce. The sriracha is quite spicy and the sweet and sour toned it down a little while still leaving some zing.

Easy, easy, and delicious. What’s not to love?

As for restaurants, we went to an opera dinner at Villagio, in Roselle, Illinois, and enjoyed both the music and the food. Then we discovered Mia Figlia, in Chicago’s Edgebrook neighborhood, which we’ve added to our take-everyone-from-out-of-town and in-town list of favorites. It was unpretentious and that good.

I encourage you to try OAMM’s Ham and Pineapple Fried Rice. Or shrimp. Or chicken. Or pork. Or with no meat at all. You will love it.

One thought on “Ham and Pineapple Fried Rice

  1. Your posts have been missed! Glad you’re back! Also glad to see that you’ve been connecting with good food and culture! An opera dinner…wow! That takes “dinner and a show” to a whole other level!!!

Leave a Reply

